RSS

Tag Archives: ASHA

Connecticut SLPs Have New CE Requirement

Connecticut Speech-Language Pathology licensees are now required to participate in continuing education (CE) activities for their biennial licensure renewal.

Connecticut SLPs can earn all 20 hours for renewal online!

Click to view approved online courses

Number of Hours

Each licensee applying for license renewal on and after October 1, 2011, shall complete a minimum of 20 hours of qualifying continuing education within the preceding twenty-four-month period for which the license is being renewed.

Qualifying CE

Qualifying continuing education activities include, but are not limited to, workshops or courses, including online courses and journal studies with content accepted by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) or such successor organization as may be approved by the department, offered by national and state speech-language-hearing associations, other regional speech-language groups, or other related professional societies and organizations as appropriate to the educational needs of the licensee, state and local education agencies, hospitals or other health care institutions, and accredited colleges and universities. One credit hour for each hour of attendance shall be recognized. Audited courses shall have hours of attendance documented.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Connecticut SLPs can earn all of their required hours through online and home study courses offered at: http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

Approval of Courses

The Department does not approve continuing education courses or pre-approve specific coursework for individual licensees, nor does the Department maintain a list of continuing education courses. It is incumbent on the licensee and the provider to ensure that the CE activity meets the requirements as outlined on this page and in the Connecticut General Statutes.

Documentation Requirements

Each licensee applying for license renewal shall sign a statement attesting that he or she has satisfied the continuing education requirements. Each licensee shall retain records of attendance or certificates of completion that demonstrate compliance with such continuing education requirements for a minimum of three years following the year in which the continuing education activities were completed and shall submit such records to the department for inspection not later than forty-five days after a request by the department for such records.

Each practitioner applying for renewal will be asked to attest that the practitioner satisfies the continuing education requirements. Certificates of completion should not be mailed to the Department unless a licensee is specifically directed to do so.

Exemptions/Waivers

A licensee who is applying for license renewal for the first time is exempt from continuing education requirements until such licensee’s next registration period.

A licensee who is not engaged in active professional practice in any form during a registration period shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements, provided the licensee submits to the department, prior to the expiration of the registration period, a notarized application for exemption. The application for exemption shall contain a statement that the licensee may not engage in professional practice until the licensee has met the continuing education requirements of this section.

In individual cases involving medical disability or illness, the department may, in it’s discretion, grant a waiver of the continuing education requirements or an extension of time within which to fulfill the continuing education requirements of this section to any licensee, provided the licensee submits to the department, prior to the expiration of the registration period, an application for waiver, along with a certification by a licensed physician of the disability or illness and such other documentation as may be required.

The department may grant a waiver or extension for a period not to exceed one registration period, except that the department may grant additional waivers or extensions if the medical disability or illness upon which a waiver or extension is granted continues beyond the period of the waiver or extension and the licensee applies for an additional waiver or extension.

Reinstatement of a Lapsed License

Any licensee whose license has lapsed due to nonrenewal and who applies to the department for reinstatement of such license shall submit evidence documenting successful completion of ten contact hours of continuing education within the one-year period immediately preceding application for reinstatement.

Connecticut Department of Public Health – Speech and Language Pathologist Licensure: http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389588&dphNav_GID=1821

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Mississippi SLPs

Mississippi SLPs can earn all 20 hours for renewal online!

Click to view ASHA-approved CEUs

Mississippi Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists have an upcoming license renewal deadline of June 30, 2012.

20 hours of continuing education are required to renew and 10 of those hours must directly relate to clinical practice. All 20 hours can now be obtained through ASHA-approved online (home study) courses.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Over 25 online, web-based and test only (based on published books) courses are available at: http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

Continuing Education Requirements:

Definition and philosophy: Each individual licensed as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist is responsible for optimum service to the consumer and is accountable to the consumer, the employer, and the profession for evidence of maintaining high levels of skill and knowledge.

  • Regulations set the requirement of 20 contact hours (CH) or 2 Continuing Education Units (CEU) to be accrued during the licensing term. No carryover of continuing education hours from one licensure period to another shall be allowed. At least fifty (50) percent (10 Contact Hours or 1 CEU) of the continuing education requirement must be directly related to the clinical practice of speech-language pathology or audiology.
  • Individuals applying for initial licensure within a licensing term must accrue continuing education hours on a prorated scale. Written notification of required hours will be sent to the applicant at the time of licensure.
  • Individuals holding a temporary license must meet the same CEU requirements as regularly licensed practitioners.
  • Persons who fail to accrue the required continuing education hours shall be issued a CE probationary license for the licensure term. Failure to accrue the required hours during the CE probationary period will result in the revocation of the license. Hours accrued are first credited for the delinquent hours lacking from the previous licensure period, and then applied to the current (CE probationary) licensing period. CE probationary licenses will be issued for one licensure term only. No ensuing license may be CE probationary as a result of not meeting continuing education requirements.
  • NOTE: Reinstatement of a license revoked for failure to meet continuing education requirements is subject to the discretion of the Department. If said license is permitted to be reinstated, payment of the “renewal,” the “late renewal payment penalty”, and the “license issued after expiration date” fees as stated in Subchapter 11 of these regulations will be required before licensure may be reinstated.

The content must apply to the field of speech-language pathology or audiology and performance and must be designed to meet one of the following goals:

  • Update knowledge and skills required for competent performance beyond entry level as described in current legislation and regulations.
  • Allow the licensee to enhance his knowledge and skills.
  • Provide opportunities for interdisciplinary learning.
  • Extend limits of professional capabilities and opportunities.
  • Facilitate personal contributions to the advancement of the profession.

Sources of Continuing Education (Revised 1/14/09):

Only courses/providers of CE courses approved by one of the organizations listed in Rule 10.7.4(1) (a) will be accepted as continuing education for licensure renewal purposes. A course not approved by an organization listed in this section of the regulations may be reviewed by the department prior to attendance at the course. Contact the department for information. Continuing education hours may be accrued from the following sources, when the content of the programs relates to the profession of speech-language pathology or audiology:

1. Attendance at educational programs:

  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA), including other state association educational programs;
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Medical Association (AMA) and its components;
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by accredited universities.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the Academy of Dispensing Audiologists.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Academy of Audiology.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Auditory Society.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by licensure authorities for speech-language pathology or audiology of other states or territories of the United States or the District of Columbia.
  • attendance at other programs approved for continuing education credit by ASHA, AMA, or their components.

2. Presentations, made before recognized groups of speech-language pathologists or audiologists, medical practitioners, or other health related professionals, rather than civic groups, and directly related to the profession of speech-language pathology or audiology. To be considered for continuing education credit, material outline and a synopsis must be submitted to the Department thirty (30) days prior to the presentation date. Notice of approval or disapproval will be sent following a review by the Department. For approved presentations, the presenter may accrue one (1) hour of continuing education credit for each hour of the actual presentation, and one (1) hour of preparation time, for a total of (2) two hours. Presenter credit is given one (1) time only, even though the session may be presented multiple times. No more than 30% of total required hours may be accrued through presentations.

3. Academic course work taken after successful completion of the master’s degree licensure requirement and taken for credit from a regionally accredited college or university. The courses must relate to the clinical practice of speech-language pathology or audiology. One academic semester hour shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) clock hours for continuing education credit. Courses must be on the graduate level. A minimum grade of “C” is needed for CE purposes

4. Online or Home Study Courses:

  • One hundred percent (100%) of the total required hours may be accrued through online or home study courses.
  • Correspondence courses are not considered self-study.
  • Courses must be approved by one of the organizations listed above.
  • A certificate of completion must be submitted to receive continuing education credit.

5. Teleconferences approved by a provider listed under Rule 10.7.4(1)(a) of these regulations. Viewing of taped teleconferences is not acceptable unless authorized by the provider in writing.

6. Publication in a professional, refereed journal. Licensee must be the principal author. A maximum of 30% of the total CE requirement may be accrued through publication.

Continuing education is defined as education beyond the basic preparation required for entry into the profession, directly related to the performance and practice of speech-language pathology or audiology. Relevancy of continuing education hours will be determined by the department with the advice of the council.

Mississippi Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology Advisory Council: http://www.msdh.state.ms.us/msdhsite/_static/30,0,82.html

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20% Off CE in Celebration of our 20th Anniversary!

We’ve reached a major milestone: 20 years of continuous operation as an accredited provider of continuing education! We couldn’t have done it without you.

In celebration of our anniversary, and to thank you for your support, we are offering a 20% discount on all of our CE courses through June 30, 2012.

Use coupon code 20YEARS to apply during checkout @ www.pdresources.org. Coupon valid on FUTURE orders only (cannot be applied retroactively). Expires 6/30/2012.

20% off CE Sale

A History of PDR

Professional Development Resources was incorporated on August 12, 1992 in the State of Florida as a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation. Its mission was – and continues to be – to seek out the most recent scientific and clinical publications in selected professional areas of psychology, mental health, social work, nutrition, speech language pathology, and occupational therapy and to present continuing education topics of current clinical relevance to the named professions for the purpose of improving patient care.

The company’s founder, Leo Christie, PhD, is a Florida-licensed marriage and family therapist who was in private practice in Jacksonville, Florida from 1982 to 1992. With the intention of establishing an outlet for his interest in writing and teaching, Christie founded the new company and set out to explore the possibility of planning and delivering live educational seminars. The vice president and director of continuing education was – and still is – his wife, Dr. Catherine Christie, who is a registered dietitian.

Christie recalls the early years: “The first steps were to become credentialed by the professional boards, select and develop a topic, identify target audiences, implement a marketing plan, and arrange funding for a series of delivery sites in the State of Florida – a daunting process, to say the least. We set out to secure accreditations from some of the Florida licensing boards so that we could award official CE credit to those who attended our conferences. That process took over 8 months. I remember having some difficulty with the Florida Board of Psychology, and it required a personal appeal and some restructuring before we were eventually recognized as a CE provider. We also sought and received approval to offer CE to nurses, under the auspices of the New York Nurses Association, which was a widely accepted accrediting board at the time. In the early years, nurses represented more than 50% of our seminar attendees.

“During the summer and fall of 1993, we completed 12 six-hour seminars in 7 Florida cities. The summer seminars were titled ‘Fears, Phobia, and Panic’ and dealt with the full spectrum of anxiety disorders. In fall, we introduced a new topic ‘Compulsive Behaviors,’ which featured a study of obsessive compulsive disorder. As a startup year, 1993 generated enough revenue to make further planning and development possible for the new company.

From there, the company went on to secure provider accreditation credentials from a number of national and state boards, including the American Psychological Association (APA), the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE), the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB), the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA), and the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) of the American Dietetic Association (ADA) [now the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics]. The speaker circuit grew to the point at which there were four speakers on the road at one time presenting various topics in 46 of the 50 states.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Kentucky SLPs

Kentucky Audiology, Speech-Language Pathology, and Speech-Language Pathology Assistant licensees must earn 30 hours of continuing education each renewal period. Dual license holders must earn 50 hours of continuing education.

All continuing education must be earned by January 31 of the renewal period.

Methods of Acquiring Continuing Education Hours

Continuing education hours applicable to the renewal of the license shall be directly related to the professional growth and development of a speech-language pathologist, speech-language pathology assistant, or audiologist.

An educational program from any of the following providers shall be deemed to be relevant to the practice of speech-language pathology or audiology and shall be approved without further review by the board:

  • The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
  • The American Academy of Audiology

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide online continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Over 25 courses available at: http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

No more than 10 hours of continuing education may be earned online in one day.

Kentucky SLPs can earn all 30 hours for renewal online!

Click to view approved online courses for Kentucky SLPs

Related continuing education subjects which are not specifically a part of the field of speech-language pathology or audiology may be approved for up to four (4) continuing education hours if the board believes that the related areas serve to enhance the licensee’s ability to practice. The four (4) hour maximum credit for related areas of study by the licensee shall be applicable to only one (1) license (speech-language pathology or audiology) for those individuals who hold dual licensure.

Each licensee is responsible for securing documentation to support proof of attendance. The board will require documentation of obtained continuing education hours if you are audited. Do not send documentation of continuing education to the board unless you are audited.

Kentucky Board of Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology: http://slp.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for New Mexico SLPs

New-Mexico SLP earning CEUs online

Click to view approved online CEUs

New Mexico-licensed Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs) are required to renew their licenses annually on January 30th. 20 hours of continuing education are required every 2 years and must be in the field of licensure. All 20 hours may be earned from online or home study courses that are offered by an ASHA-approved provider.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Over 25 online and home study courses are available for New Mexico SLPs @ http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

Continuing Education Requirements

Continuing education is one of the most important responsibilities of the speech-language pathologist. It is also a life-long process. A diversity of information related to speech-language pathology regarding changing requirements, laws, and trends in the field is recommended to enhance the professional skills and development the speech-language pathologist. The responsibility of continuing education rests solely with the speech-language pathologist.

  • The board will require twenty (20) hours of continuing education every two years. These may be distributed over the two year period, or they may all be obtained in one year. These continuing education hours must be in the field of his or her licensure, or in a related field if justified to the board office. The board office will consult with the board and/or with the New Mexico speech-language and hearing association (or similar statewide professional association) to resolve questions as to appropriate continuing education hours. Renewal of a license shall be contingent upon the fulfillment of the continuing education standards and the supplying of evidence thereof by the licensee. The board shall be the final authority on acceptance of any educational activity submitted by a licensee to meet the continuing education requirement.
  • The board or board office will approve professional education activities sponsored or approved by a national or state professional association of speech-language pathologists, audiologists and hearing aid dispensers.

Continuing Education Audit

The board shall audit a percentage of renewal applications each year to verify the continuing education requirement. The licensee should maintain a file that includes the continuing education course documentation up to two (2) years.

  • If a NOTICE OF AUDIT letter is received with the annual renewal form, evidence of continuing education hours earned during the last two years must be submitted to the board as requested by this rule.
  • If the licensee is NOT AUDITED, the licensee will have to sign an affidavit attesting to the completion of the required hours of continuing education and all documentation of attendance and agendas should be retained by the licensee for a minimum of two (2) years immediately preceding the current renewal.
  • The board reserves the right to audit continuing education attendance certificates whenever there is reasonable doubt the courses submitted, dates, or hours may be incorrect.

The New Mexico Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology and Hearing Aid Dispensing Practices Board: http://www.rld.state.nm.us/Speech/index.html

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Nevada SLPs

Nevada SLPs can earn all 15 hours for renewal online!

Click to view ASHA-approved online CEUs

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs) licensed in Nevada are required to renew their licenses annually on December 31st.

15 hours of continuing education are required per year to renew. Courses offered by ASHA-approved providers are automatically accepted by the Board of Examiners for Audiology and Speech Pathology (http://speech_pathology.state.nv.us/index.htm).

There is no limit on hours earned through online courses that are offered by ASHA-approved providers and include a post-test.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Over 25 online and book-based home study courses are available at: http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 9, 2011 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Massachusetts SLPs

Massachusetts SLPs can earn all 20 hours for renewal online

Click to view ASHA-approved CEUs

Massachusetts-licensed Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs) and Audiologists are required to renew their licenses biennially, on January 6th of even-numbered years.

20 hours of continuing education are required to renew (30 hours if dual-licensed). A minimum of 10 hours must be earned in the area of licensure.

Courses offered by ASHA-approved providers are automatically accepted by the Board of Registration in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/sp/).  There is no limit on hours earned through online/home study courses that are ASHA-approved.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Over 20 online and home study courses are available @ http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/.

The purpose of continuing education is to assure high standards of practice of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists by requiring licensees to participate in on-going educational activities. Through these experiences, licensees may increase their competence and enhance the knowledge obtained during prior education and training as a Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist.

Continuing Education Requirements

Licensees holding a license in either speech-language pathology or audiology are required, as a condition of license renewal, to complete a minimum of the equivalent of 20 Continuing Education Hours per licensure renewal period (every two years). A minimum of ten of the total 20 Continuing Education Hours must be completed in the licensee’s area of licensure.

Licensees holding licenses in both speech-language pathology and audiology are required, as a condition of license renewal, to complete a minimum of 30 Continuing Education Hours per licensure renewal period (every two years). A minimum of ten of the total 30 Continuing Education Hours must be completed in the licensee’s major area of clinical service delivery and a minimum of five of the Continuing Education Hours must be in the licensee’s minor area of clinical service delivery.

Restrictions on Certain Programs

Continuing Education Publications – authored by the licensee may be substituted for up to 20 Continuing Education Hours per licensure renewal period. Sole authors may earn up to 20 Continuing Education Hours per licensure renewal period, and multiple authors may each receive 10 Continuing Education Hours per licensure renewal period for each publication.

Continuing Education Instruction – Instructors of a Continuing Education Program or a Continuing Education Academic Course may be credited one Continuing Education Hour for each hour of the Continuing Education Program Continuing Education Academic Course taught by the licensee, up to a maximum of ten Continuing Education Hours required per licensure renewal period. Only the initial offering of a Continuing Education Program or a Continuing Education Academic Course may be credited as a Continuing Education Activity.

Continuing Education Academic Course – may be substituted for not more than ten Continuing Education Hours per license renewal period.

For each licensee, the licensee shall only obtain credit for those Continuing Education Activities that are non-duplicative.

Only those Continuing Education Activities which are completed during the two year period prior to each renewal date will be acceptable as qualifying as a Continuing Education Activity.

FAQs

How many Continuing Education Units are needed to renew my license?

20 hours per licensure period are needed to renew your license; the licensure period runs from January 6th of each even-numbered year until January 6th two years later.

The approved sponsors are American Speech Language and Hearing Association (ASHA), Massachusetts Speech Language Hearing Association (MSHA), Professional Development Points (PDP), and American Academy of Audiology (AAA). For further information refer to the Rules and Regulations 260-CMR, Section 7.00.

How do I report my CEUs?

From time to time the Board will randomly audit a certain percentage of licensees for proof of their Continuing Education. In the meantime it is the licensee’s responsibility to maintain their own file, either personally or through ASHA, in the event the Board requests to see proof. DO NOT SEND THEM TO THE BOARD UNTIL SUCH TIME AS THEY ARE REQUESTED.

How many CEU’s do I owe if I was just licensed?

If your initial license was issued less that a year from the renewal date, you only owe 10 hours; if your issue date is less that 180 days from the renewal date you owe none.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers