Licensed Utah marriage and family therapists have a biennial license renewal with a September 30th deadline, even years. In order to renew a license, forty (40) continuing education hours is required. Ten (10) hours of continuing education is allowed for home study. Of the 40 hours, six hours in ethics/law is also required.
The main purpose of continuing education is to assure the highest standards for the marriage and family therapist profession. All licensees are required to participate in continuing educational activities that build upon existing competence and knowledge gained from prior educational experiences.
Professional Development Resources sponsors continuing education for marriage and family therapists. Professional Development Resources maintains all responsibility for content and programs. Utah marriage and family therapists can earn up to 10 hours of continuing education through online coursework at http://www.pdresources.org.
Continuing Education Requirements
Utah marriage and family therapists are required as a condition of license renewal to complete a minimum of forty (40) hours of continuing educational activities per renewal period, every two years.
The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing: http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/professional_counseling.html