Licensed Utah psychologists have a license renewal with a September 30th deadline every two years, even years. In order to renew a license, forty-eight (48) hours of continuing education is required. Eighteen (18) continuing education hours is allowed for home study. Home study courses must have a post test and be approved by the American Psychological Association (APA). Of the 48 hours, 6 hours of ethics/law is required per licensing period.
The main purpose of continuing education is to assure the highest standards for the psychology profession. All licensees are required to participate in continuing educational activities that add to existing competence and knowledge gained from previous educational experiences.
Professional Development Resources is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. Professional Development Resources maintains all responsibility for content and programs. Utah psychologists can earn up to 18 hours of continuing education through online coursework at http://www.pdresources.org.
Continuing Education Requirements
Utah psychologists are required as a condition of licensure to complete a minimum of 48 hours of continuing educational activities per licensing period, every two years.
The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing: http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/professional_counseling.html.