RSS

Dealing with PTSD and Becoming Stronger

03 Dec

 

Dealing with PTSD and Becoming Stronger

Dealing with PTSD and Becoming Stronger

Written by Foxy

The problem with mental illness is that a lot of people don’t see it in the same way as they do a physical illness. People can see a broken leg; people can’t necessarily pinpoint the signs of a mental illness. I know this all too well because I was one of those people: I didn’t believe post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) really existed until I was actually diagnosed with it.

I triggered my audience while lecturing on PTSD. Here’s what I learned
I joined the military at 16 and went from the Royal Marines, passing through the gruelling SAS selection process, to serving in the Special Boat Service (SBS). I had a successful career spanning two decades and I absolutely loved my job. I served in some of the most hostile territories on Earth, negotiated hostage releases and worked on humanitarian efforts, as well as doing intense counter-insurgency operations in countries all around the world.

After all these years in the field, I noticed that my thoughts had begun to fixate on unwelcome memories of combat, and I felt exhausted. Eventually, I recognised the signs of combat stress, which led to me being diagnosed with PTSD. I was medically discharged from the career I’d worked so hard for, and the transition from soldier to civilian with the added element of a mental illness was almost too much to bear.

PTSD comes in all different shapes and sizes – nobody ever has the same experience with any mental illness. My personal PTSD, as a result of combat stress, manifested itself in a few different ways. When I was still serving, there was a particular moment in the field when I felt like I wanted to give up – all I could think about was how much I wanted to go home. When you’re in the Special Forces, thinking like that just isn’t an option. Upon leaving the SBS it shifted again, and became more of a depression than anything. I found adjusting to civilian life incredibly difficult, especially as I still had vivid memories of particularly harrowing moments in combat. There was also the added guilt of not feeling good enough in myself – I felt like I should’ve stayed in the SBS for a few more years, but instead, this illness I didn’t quite understand had forced me to leave. It was incredibly tough to come to terms with.

The term “PTSD” is relatively new, but the condition has always had a presence in military operations and has previously been known as soldier’s heart or, simply, battle fatigue. But PTSD doesn’t just affect people in the military – even though there has been a huge increase in diagnosis for veterans such as me since Iraq and Afghanistan. It’s different for everyone, and that means that the treatment for PTSD should be tailored to the individual in question. When I was discharged from the SBS, I was pointed in the direction of several different treatments. It took a long time for me to figure out which of those worked for me.

When it comes to treatment you instantly know what’s not working for you. I tried Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), otherwise known as “the talking therapy”, where my therapist asked me to pinpoint the exact moment that triggered my PTSD. When you’ve been in the situations I’ve been in, serving in some of the most intense, high-pressured missions there are, it’s impossible to focus on one exact moment. In a life of split-second decisions based entirely on survival, how can you specify a single moment? The same went for EMDR treatment (eye movement, desensitisation and reprocessing). Instead of helping me to reprocess, it left me feeling constantly frustrated with the lack of progress I was making.

Analysis PTSD is terrifying but speed of UK veterans seeking help is promising. In the end, the thing that’s worked for me has been having another focus. Whether that’s co-running my business, Break Point, or filming for SAS: Who Dares Wins – you have to have something to focus on professionally as well as enjoying the smaller things in life. I have a friend who taught himself to play guitar as a release, and now runs an organisation called Rock 2 Recovery, where he signposts veterans and servicemen for medical attention and helps to save lives. It’s equally as important for me to take time to reflect on the memories I have, and to make sure that I can manage and accept them, rather than letting them overcome the progress I have made. Article Source

Popular Continuing Education Courses on PTSD

With the wars in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq, a new generation of military veterans has arrived home, requiring appropriate and sensitive pastoral care. This course is based on a handbook written for the Department of the Navy by The Rev. Brian Hughes and The Rev. George Handzo, entitled Spiritual Care Handbook on PTSD/TBI: The Handbook on Best Practices for the Provision of Spiritual Care to Persons with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Traumatic Brain Injury. This manual begins by describing the criteria for posttraumatic stress disorder and traumatic brain injury. The handbook goes on to outline a theory of recovery, to describe the general stance of the pastoral counselor, and to provide guidelines for sensitivity to differences in religion, culture, and gender.Referring to the empirical literature, specific pastoral interventions are described, including group work, meaning-making, spiritual care interventions, clinical use of prayer and healing rituals, confession work, percentage of guilt discussion, life review, scripture paralleling, reframing God assumptions, examining harmful spiritual attributions, encouraging connection with a spiritual community, mantra repetition, creative writing, sweat lodges, psychic judo, interpersonal therapy, and trauma incident reduction. Several other beneficial features include a description of seven stages of faith development and tips for self-care for the pastoral counselor.

 

Providers, and those who listen empathically to the trauma stories of others, are at risk for reactions known collectively as vicarious traumatization (VT). This course outlines some of the basic differences between primary traumatization, secondary traumatization, VT, and compassion fatigue; discusses many of the signs and symptoms of VT; provides questions for self-assessment of VT; and provides coping suggestions for providers who are involved in trauma work or those who may have VT reactions. This course offers providers and others who listen empathically to the trauma stories of others, a basic understanding of the possible effects of “caring for others” and discusses ways to monitor oneself and engage in positive self-care.

 

Part I of this course provides an overview of cognitive-behavioral interventions for PTSD. It describes some basic aspects of CBT, outlines cognitive-behavioral theories of PTSD, discusses key trauma-focused CBT interventions, and provides some tips for using CBT to encourage behavior change. Additional resources related to the topic are identified. Part II has two principal objectives. First it will review the psychobiology of the human response to stress in order to establish the pathophysiological rationale for utilizing different classes of medications as potential treatments for PTSD. Second it will review the current literature on evidence-based pharmacotherapy for PTSD. New medications currently being tested will also be discussed. The speakers’ original lectures included in this course are transcribed verbatim with minor editorial modifications.

 

Substance abuse problems are commonly experienced by those who have experienced trauma. This course discusses the complex relationship between trauma/PTSD and substance use disorders and provides a background for understanding comorbid PTSD and substance abuse. Topics covered include assessment, practice guidelines, common issues and their implications for treatment, and empirically-based treatment considerations in traumatized/PTSD individuals.

This online course is offered by Professional Development Resources, a non-profit provider of continuing education (CE/CEU) resources for healthcare professionals. Professional Development Resources is approved to offer continuing education by the American Psychological Association (APA); the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC ACEP #5590);  the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB Provider #1046, ACE Program); the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA Provider #3159); the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR Provider #PR001); the Florida Boards of Social Work, Mental Health Counseling and Marriage and Family Therapy (#BAP346), Psychology & School Psychology (#50-1635), Dietetics & Nutrition (#50-1635), and Occupational Therapy Practice (#34); the Ohio Counselor, Social Worker & MFT Board (#RCST100501); the South Carolina Board of Professional Counselors & MFTs (#193); and the Texas Board of Examiners of Marriage & Family Therapists (#114) and State Board of Social Worker Examiners (#5678).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 3, 2015 in General

 

Leave a Reply

 
