RSS

Tag Archives: home study

Connecticut SLPs Have New CE Requirement

Connecticut Speech-Language Pathology licensees are now required to participate in continuing education (CE) activities for their biennial licensure renewal.

Connecticut SLPs can earn all 20 hours for renewal online!

Click to view approved online courses

Number of Hours

Each licensee applying for license renewal on and after October 1, 2011, shall complete a minimum of 20 hours of qualifying continuing education within the preceding twenty-four-month period for which the license is being renewed.

Qualifying CE

Qualifying continuing education activities include, but are not limited to, workshops or courses, including online courses and journal studies with content accepted by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) or such successor organization as may be approved by the department, offered by national and state speech-language-hearing associations, other regional speech-language groups, or other related professional societies and organizations as appropriate to the educational needs of the licensee, state and local education agencies, hospitals or other health care institutions, and accredited colleges and universities. One credit hour for each hour of attendance shall be recognized. Audited courses shall have hours of attendance documented.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Connecticut SLPs can earn all of their required hours through online and home study courses offered at: http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

Approval of Courses

The Department does not approve continuing education courses or pre-approve specific coursework for individual licensees, nor does the Department maintain a list of continuing education courses. It is incumbent on the licensee and the provider to ensure that the CE activity meets the requirements as outlined on this page and in the Connecticut General Statutes.

Documentation Requirements

Each licensee applying for license renewal shall sign a statement attesting that he or she has satisfied the continuing education requirements. Each licensee shall retain records of attendance or certificates of completion that demonstrate compliance with such continuing education requirements for a minimum of three years following the year in which the continuing education activities were completed and shall submit such records to the department for inspection not later than forty-five days after a request by the department for such records.

Each practitioner applying for renewal will be asked to attest that the practitioner satisfies the continuing education requirements. Certificates of completion should not be mailed to the Department unless a licensee is specifically directed to do so.

Exemptions/Waivers

A licensee who is applying for license renewal for the first time is exempt from continuing education requirements until such licensee’s next registration period.

A licensee who is not engaged in active professional practice in any form during a registration period shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements, provided the licensee submits to the department, prior to the expiration of the registration period, a notarized application for exemption. The application for exemption shall contain a statement that the licensee may not engage in professional practice until the licensee has met the continuing education requirements of this section.

In individual cases involving medical disability or illness, the department may, in it’s discretion, grant a waiver of the continuing education requirements or an extension of time within which to fulfill the continuing education requirements of this section to any licensee, provided the licensee submits to the department, prior to the expiration of the registration period, an application for waiver, along with a certification by a licensed physician of the disability or illness and such other documentation as may be required.

The department may grant a waiver or extension for a period not to exceed one registration period, except that the department may grant additional waivers or extensions if the medical disability or illness upon which a waiver or extension is granted continues beyond the period of the waiver or extension and the licensee applies for an additional waiver or extension.

Reinstatement of a Lapsed License

Any licensee whose license has lapsed due to nonrenewal and who applies to the department for reinstatement of such license shall submit evidence documenting successful completion of ten contact hours of continuing education within the one-year period immediately preceding application for reinstatement.

Connecticut Department of Public Health – Speech and Language Pathologist Licensure: http://www.ct.gov/dph/cwp/view.asp?a=3121&q=389588&dphNav_GID=1821

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Mississippi SLPs

Mississippi SLPs can earn all 20 hours for renewal online!

Click to view ASHA-approved CEUs

Mississippi Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists have an upcoming license renewal deadline of June 30, 2012.

20 hours of continuing education are required to renew and 10 of those hours must directly relate to clinical practice. All 20 hours can now be obtained through ASHA-approved online (home study) courses.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Over 25 online, web-based and test only (based on published books) courses are available at: http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

Continuing Education Requirements:

Definition and philosophy: Each individual licensed as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist is responsible for optimum service to the consumer and is accountable to the consumer, the employer, and the profession for evidence of maintaining high levels of skill and knowledge.

  • Regulations set the requirement of 20 contact hours (CH) or 2 Continuing Education Units (CEU) to be accrued during the licensing term. No carryover of continuing education hours from one licensure period to another shall be allowed. At least fifty (50) percent (10 Contact Hours or 1 CEU) of the continuing education requirement must be directly related to the clinical practice of speech-language pathology or audiology.
  • Individuals applying for initial licensure within a licensing term must accrue continuing education hours on a prorated scale. Written notification of required hours will be sent to the applicant at the time of licensure.
  • Individuals holding a temporary license must meet the same CEU requirements as regularly licensed practitioners.
  • Persons who fail to accrue the required continuing education hours shall be issued a CE probationary license for the licensure term. Failure to accrue the required hours during the CE probationary period will result in the revocation of the license. Hours accrued are first credited for the delinquent hours lacking from the previous licensure period, and then applied to the current (CE probationary) licensing period. CE probationary licenses will be issued for one licensure term only. No ensuing license may be CE probationary as a result of not meeting continuing education requirements.
  • NOTE: Reinstatement of a license revoked for failure to meet continuing education requirements is subject to the discretion of the Department. If said license is permitted to be reinstated, payment of the “renewal,” the “late renewal payment penalty”, and the “license issued after expiration date” fees as stated in Subchapter 11 of these regulations will be required before licensure may be reinstated.

The content must apply to the field of speech-language pathology or audiology and performance and must be designed to meet one of the following goals:

  • Update knowledge and skills required for competent performance beyond entry level as described in current legislation and regulations.
  • Allow the licensee to enhance his knowledge and skills.
  • Provide opportunities for interdisciplinary learning.
  • Extend limits of professional capabilities and opportunities.
  • Facilitate personal contributions to the advancement of the profession.

Sources of Continuing Education (Revised 1/14/09):

Only courses/providers of CE courses approved by one of the organizations listed in Rule 10.7.4(1) (a) will be accepted as continuing education for licensure renewal purposes. A course not approved by an organization listed in this section of the regulations may be reviewed by the department prior to attendance at the course. Contact the department for information. Continuing education hours may be accrued from the following sources, when the content of the programs relates to the profession of speech-language pathology or audiology:

1. Attendance at educational programs:

  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA), including other state association educational programs;
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Medical Association (AMA) and its components;
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by accredited universities.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the Academy of Dispensing Audiologists.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Academy of Audiology.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by the American Auditory Society.
  • attendance at educational programs where continuing education credit is given and approved by licensure authorities for speech-language pathology or audiology of other states or territories of the United States or the District of Columbia.
  • attendance at other programs approved for continuing education credit by ASHA, AMA, or their components.

2. Presentations, made before recognized groups of speech-language pathologists or audiologists, medical practitioners, or other health related professionals, rather than civic groups, and directly related to the profession of speech-language pathology or audiology. To be considered for continuing education credit, material outline and a synopsis must be submitted to the Department thirty (30) days prior to the presentation date. Notice of approval or disapproval will be sent following a review by the Department. For approved presentations, the presenter may accrue one (1) hour of continuing education credit for each hour of the actual presentation, and one (1) hour of preparation time, for a total of (2) two hours. Presenter credit is given one (1) time only, even though the session may be presented multiple times. No more than 30% of total required hours may be accrued through presentations.

3. Academic course work taken after successful completion of the master’s degree licensure requirement and taken for credit from a regionally accredited college or university. The courses must relate to the clinical practice of speech-language pathology or audiology. One academic semester hour shall be equivalent to fifteen (15) clock hours for continuing education credit. Courses must be on the graduate level. A minimum grade of “C” is needed for CE purposes

4. Online or Home Study Courses:

  • One hundred percent (100%) of the total required hours may be accrued through online or home study courses.
  • Correspondence courses are not considered self-study.
  • Courses must be approved by one of the organizations listed above.
  • A certificate of completion must be submitted to receive continuing education credit.

5. Teleconferences approved by a provider listed under Rule 10.7.4(1)(a) of these regulations. Viewing of taped teleconferences is not acceptable unless authorized by the provider in writing.

6. Publication in a professional, refereed journal. Licensee must be the principal author. A maximum of 30% of the total CE requirement may be accrued through publication.

Continuing education is defined as education beyond the basic preparation required for entry into the profession, directly related to the performance and practice of speech-language pathology or audiology. Relevancy of continuing education hours will be determined by the department with the advice of the council.

Mississippi Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology Advisory Council: http://www.msdh.state.ms.us/msdhsite/_static/30,0,82.html

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Oregon Counselors & MFTs

Oregon-licensed professional counselors and marriage & family therapists (MFTs) must complete forty (40) clock hours of continuing education every 2 years. Six of those 40 hours must be in ethics training.

The reporting period is from the license renewal in one even-numbered year to the next license renewal in the subsequent even-numbered year. For example, if your birth month is June, your CEU reporting period would be from July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2012. You would report when you renew your license in June, 2012.

The 40 clock hours may be obtained in a variety of ways:

  • Attending college or university courses — 15 clock hours per semester credit or 10 clock hours per quarter credit.
  • Seminars, workshops, conferences and/or trainings.
  • Supervision (maximum of 10 hours)
  • Distance learning trainings must be offered or approved by a provider acceptable to the Board, e.g., NBCC. Distance learning programs must include mechanisms for evaluation, measurement, or confirmation of exchange of information.
  • Home study from approved providers must be offered or approved by a provider acceptable to the Board, e.g., NBCC.

 

Oregon Counselors and MFTs can earn all 40 hours through online courses

Click to view approved online courses

Professional Development Resources is approved as a provider of continuing education by the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC Provider #5590) and by the American Psychological Association (APA) to offer continuing education for Counselors and MFTs. Oregon licensees may obtain all 40 clock hours through online home study courses offered @ http://www.pdresources.org/Index.aspx.

In order to complete the continuing education requirements, education/training experiences must be in one or more of the following program areas:

  • Counseling or marital and family therapy theory and techniques
  • Human development and family studies
  • Social and cultural foundations
  • The helping relationship
  • Group dynamics
  • Lifestyle and career development
  • DSM diagnosis assessment
  • Research and evaluation
  • Professional orientation and ethics
  • Professional supervision training
  • Disability and life transitions
  • Substance abuse
  • Psychopharmacology
  • Diagnosis and treatment of mental health disorders

Courses in personal growth, computers, administration, management, marketing, or other business classes will NOT count.

Each reporting year, the Board randomly selects 10% of licensees for an audit to check compliance of its continuing education requirements.

The Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists: http://www.oblpct.state.or.us/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Indiana Social Workers, Counselors & MFTs

Indiana counselors, social workers and MFTs can earn all 40 continuing education hours for renewal online

Click to view approved online courses!

Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists, and Mental Health Counselors licensed in the State of Indiana are required to obtain at least forty (40) hours of continuing education in order to renew their license. 20 hours must come from Category I (formal) courses and 1 hour on ethics from a Category I course is required each year. The license renewal deadline is March 31, 2012.

Professional Development Resources is approved as a provider of continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB Provider #1046, ACE Program); by the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC Provider #5590) and by the American Psychological Association (APA) to offer continuing education for Social Workers, Counselors and MFTs. Indiana-licensees can earn all 40 hours per renewal through courses @ http://www.pdresources.org/Index.aspx (formal Category I).

Continuing Education Frequently Asked Questions

How many continuing education hours do I need to renew my license?

40 hours of continuing education credits are required for each renewal cycle or 20 CEUs per year.

What is the renewal cycle?

April 1st – March 31st of every even numbered year.

Are there any required courses I must take?

Yes, every licensee is required to take at least 1 hour of ethics in Category I continuing education each year.

How many hours of continuing education do I need if I have been licensed less than 24 months?

You will need 20 hours in order to renew your license.

How many hours of continuing education do I need if I have been licensed less than 12 months?

You do not need any continuing education in order to renew your license.

What are Category I CEUs and how many do I need per licensure cycle?

Category I is defined as continuing education that is formal programming, which includes the following:

  • Formally organized courses.
  • Workshops.
  • Seminars.
  • Symposia.
  • Institutes.
  • Home study programs, including computer; audio; video; and instructional programs, accredited by board-approved organizations.
  • Courses that are relevant to the license holder’s professional skills, which are part of the curriculum of an accredited university, college, or educational institution, shall earn fifteen (15) CEUs for each academic semester hour completed, or ten (10) CEUs for each academic quarter hour completed.
  • Faculty teaching a course for the first time at an accredited university, college, or educational institution shall earn one and one-half (1½) CEUs for every hour taught.

You are required to obtain a minimum of 20 Category I CEUs per renewal cycle.

What are Category II CEUs and how many do I need per licensure cycle?

Category II is defined as continuing education that is self-directed, which includes the following:

  • Journal clubs, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended.
  • Office in-services, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended.
  • Case conferences that are specifically designed for training or teaching, earns one (1) CEU for each hour attended.
  • Services as an instructor, presenter, or supervisor in a relevant professional seminar, workshop, or training conference earns one (1) CEU for each hour of service, but only for the initial instruction, presentation, or supervision given.
  • Research and publication of research results in a recognized professional journal or book form, earns ten (10) CEUs, but may only be claimed for the initial publication of the information.
  • Providing peer review of another licensee’s therapy and skills, which includes consultation, conference, and critique, earns one (1) CEU for each hour spent with the peer for this purpose.
  • Services on boards and commissions and holding office in professional organizations, specifically related to the licensee’s profession, earns one (1) CEU for each hour of service

You are not required to earn any Category II hours however, if you do use Category II hours towards you CEU requirement then you may acquire no more than 20 Category II CEUs per renewal cycle.

How do I document Category II hours?

You can record your hours on a Word document or spreadsheet.  You should include the date of the activity, the type of activity, and the amount of time you spent conducting the activity.

How many hours in Category II hours can I count?

You can count up to 10 Category II hours per year and a maximum of 20 per renewal cycle.

Can I take all of my CEUs in one year or do they have to be split evenly throughout the renewal period?

You can take as many CEUs as you like as long as you take at least 20 CEUs per year, a minimum of 10 of those hours must be Category I.

Can continuing education credits transfer from one renewal period to the next?

No. Credits can only be counted for the period in which they are taken.

Do copies of my completed continuing education certificates need to be sent to the licensure board when I renew my license?

No. Certificates are for your records and will only need to be submitted if you are audited.  However, it is required that licensees maintain copies of their CEU records for a period of four years in the event they are audited by the Board.

What do I do if I am audited?

Once you receive your audit letter you will need to either fax or mail in copies of continuing education certificates to the Board by the deadline stated on the letter.

What happens if I didn’t receive the necessary CEUs during a licensure cycle or can’t produce the necessary documents during an audit?

You will be required to make up the continuing education hours you are short and you will have to pay a fine.  The Board has adopted the proposed schedule as a general guideline for continuing education violations:

Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board: http://www.in.gov/pla/social.htm

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Florida Psychologists

Florida Psychologist earning CE credits online

Click to view approved online courses

Florida psychologists have a biennial license renewal deadline of May 31st (of even-numbered years). Every licensee must complete 40 hours of approved continuing psychological education (CE) within the two year licensure period (biennium) including 2 hours on the prevention of medical errors, 3 hours on ethics and Florida laws, and 2 hours on domestic violence (every third renewal).

Professional Development Resources is approved by the American Psychological Association (APA) to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. Professional Development Resources maintains responsibility for all programs and content. Florida psychologists may earn all 40 required hours through coursework @ http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Psychology/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

Continuing Psychological Education Credit

As a condition of biennial licensure renewal, each licensee must complete forty (40) hours of continuing psychological education.

  • Three (3) of the forty (40) hours must be on professional ethics and Florida Statutes and rules affecting the practice of psychology. Of those three hours, at least one hour shall be on professional ethics, and at least one hour shall be on Florida laws and rules relevant to the practice of psychology and shall include Chapters 456 and 490, F.S. and Rule Chapter 64B19, F.A.C.
  • Two (2) of the forty (40) hours must relate to prevention of medical errors. In addition to the study of root-cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, and patient safety, the course content shall also be designed to discuss potential errors within a psychological setting, such as inadequate assessment of suicide risk, failure to comply with mandatory abuse reporting laws, and failure to detect medical conditions presenting as a psychological disorder. If the course is offered by a facility licensed pursuant to Chapter 395, F.S., for its employees, the Board will approve up to one (1) hour of the two (2) hour course to be specifically related to error reduction and prevention methods used in that facility.
  • Every six years, each licensee shall complete two (2) hours of continuing psychological education on domestic violence as defined in Section 741.28, F.S.; these two (2) hours shall be part of the forty (40) hours otherwise required for each biennial licensure renewal. The licensee shall maintain documentation to substantiate timely completion of these two (2) hours and make said documentation available upon request every third biennial licensure renewal period.
  • Passage of the laws and rules examination of the Board constitutes forty (40) hours of continuing education credit, including credit for professional ethics and Florida Statutes and rules affecting the practice of psychology. Passage of the laws and rules examination, however, does not satisfy the requirement for the two (2) credit hours of continuing education on domestic violence required every third biennial licensure renewal period, nor the requirement for two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors.

Continuing psychological education credit will be granted for:

  • Completion of graduate level courses approved for credit by sponsors approved by the American Psychological Association;
  • Completion of graduate level courses in psychology provided by a university or professional school which is regionally accredited, except that no more than ten (10) hours of continuing psychological education credit may be obtained for each semester hour;
  • Completion of a colloquium, a presentation, a workshop or a symposium offered for continuing education credit by a doctoral psychology program or an internship or residency which is part of a psychology program that is accredited by the American Psychological Association;
  • Full attendance at workshops/seminars offered by providers approved by the American Psychological Association or any of its affiliates, or providers approved by the Board. A list of Board approved providers is available from the Board office upon request;
  • Simple attendance at a state, regional or national psychology convention or conference. Only four (4) credits will be allowed each biennium regardless of how many state, regional or national conventions or conferences are attended during that biennium;
  • Attainment of diplomate status in a specialty area from the American Board of Professional Psychology, for which thirty-seven (37) continuing psychological education credits, not including the two-hour continuing education course on domestic violence required by Section 456.031(1), F.S., and the two-hour continuing education course on the prevention of medical errors required by Section 456.013(7), F.S., will be allowed only during the biennium during which the diplomate is first awarded;
  • Presenting or moderating for the first time only a continuing psychological education program sponsored by a provider approved by the Board, except that credit will be limited to the number of credits allowed by the program;
  • Each hour of attendance at a Board meeting or Board committee meeting. Only one credit will be granted for each hour of full attendance and only ten (10) credits will be allowed each biennium regardless of how many hours are attended during the biennium. Attendance at a Board or committee meeting shall also satisfy, hour by hour, the requirement of professional ethics and legal issues credit set out in subsection (3) of this rule.
  • Continuing education courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance of the Department of Health, provided that such courses enhance the psychological skills and/or psychological knowledge of the licensee.
  • The provision of volunteer expert witness opinions for cases being reviewed pursuant to laws and standards relevant to the practice of psychology. Two hours of credit shall be awarded for each case reviewed up to a maximum of ten hours per biennium. In this regard, volunteer expert witnesses are expected to perform a review of the psychological, medical, legal, and/or ethical literature, as appropriate to the case being reviewed.

No continuing psychological education credit may be earned for:

  • Regular work activities as a psychologist;
  • Membership, office in, or participation on boards or committees of professional organizations;
  • Independent, unstructured or self-structured learning;
  • Personal psychotherapy or personal growth experience;
  • Authoring or editing books or articles;
  • Obtaining or providing supervision or consultation from or under a psychologist or other professional who is not a Board approved continuing psychological education provider;
  • Home study except from providers approved by the American Psychological Association or any of its affiliates.

The licensee shall maintain, and make available upon request, documentation to substantiate continuing psychological education credit required by the Board. The licensee shall retain such documentation for two (2) years following the renewal period during which the continuing psychological education credit was required.

Florida Board of Psychology: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/psychology/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Oregon Psychologists

Oregon Psychologists may now earn all 50 continuing education hours for license renewal online!

Click to view APA-approved online CE courses

Psychologists in Oregon are required to renew their licenses every 2 years. The Oregon Board of Psychologist Examiners has transitioned to a birth-month renewal process. Even-numbered licensees renew in odd years, and odd-numbered licensees renew in even years. Payments are due by the last day of the licensees birth month.

A licensee must earn at least 50 CE credits completed during the two-year period immediately preceding the renewal date (minimum 4 hours in ethics). New licensees (licensed less than one year) are not required to complete any CE until after their first renewal.

Pain Management CE

All licensees must report 7 hours of Pain Management education credits. This is a “one time only” requirement. One hour must be a course provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission (OPMC); the 6 remaining hours can be of your choice of pain management topics.

Qualified Programs

Specific programs qualify as acceptable continuing education if they are formal programs of learning that contribute directly to the professional competence of the licensee.

Continuing Education programs shall qualify for credit if:

  • The subject matter deals primarily with substantive psychological issues, skills or laws, rules and ethical standards related to one’s role as a psychologist or psychologist associate.
  • The program is conducted by a qualified instructor or discussion leader. A qualified instructor or discussion leader is a person whose background, training, education, or experience makes it appropriate for the person to make a presentation or lead a discussion on the subject matter.
  • A record of attendance, such as a certificate of completion, is obtained.

Programs that do not qualify: computer skills, case staffing meeting, yoga, marketing, investments, managed care organization meetings, among others.

Credit Hours Granted

One credit hour = one actual hour attended. For an instructor/discussion leader/speaker: one credit hour = one hour of presentation time, and one credit hour = one hour of preparation time for new material only (limit 2 hours of preparation per one hour of presentation). Some limits apply to the number of hours accepted for specific categories.

WHEN to Report

Licensees report their CE credits at renewal. Renewal notices are mailed about 6 weeks prior to the due date. The renewal form contains a “continuing education report” section for you to fill in how many CE credits you have earned during the preceding licensing period.

Exception: If your last renewal period was the prorated transition period (for birth month renewals), then you may count any CE earned during that time towards the next full license period. For odd licensees, CE hours must be reported at the end of your birth month in 2012. For even licensees, CE hours must be reported at the end of your birth month in 2013.

New licensees (licensed less than one year) are not required to complete or report any CE. After a new licensee’s first renewal, they will begin accumulating their 50 hours to be reported at their second renewal. The pain management requirement must be completed during in the first CE reporting period.

HOW to Document CE (Audits)

Acceptable documentation includes: transcripts, certificates of attendance, study group syllabus, copies of published materials, copies of cancelled checks (for paid supervision or consultation), among others. You must retain documentation for two years after the reporting period. You will only submit your “CE tracking tool” and CE documentation if you are randomly selected for an audit. Please do not send these materials in with your renewal.

Random Audit: OBPE randomly audits 20% of licensees for compliance with the CE requirements. Licensees selected for a random audit will be asked to submit documentation of all continuing education for the preceding two year licensure period. Licensees will be notified and given 30 days to correct any deficiencies.

Hardship: The Board may grant exemptions in whole or in part from continuing education requirements, including extension of deadlines, in documented hardship cases.

Failure to Comply: Licensees who submit incomplete, unacceptable, or late CE Reports will be assessed a $200 delinquent fee.

Oregon Board of Psychologist Examiners: http://www.obpe.state.or.us/OBPE/index.shtml

Professional Development Resources is approved by the American Psychological Association (APA) to sponsor continuing education for psychologists. Professional Development Resources maintains responsibility for all programs and content. Over 150 online and home study courses (including ethics and pain management) are available for Oregon Psychologists @ http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Psychology/AllCourses/CourseID/1/.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2011 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Renewal Information for Nevada SLPs

Nevada SLPs can earn all 15 hours for renewal online!

Click to view ASHA-approved online CEUs

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs) licensed in Nevada are required to renew their licenses annually on December 31st.

15 hours of continuing education are required per year to renew. Courses offered by ASHA-approved providers are automatically accepted by the Board of Examiners for Audiology and Speech Pathology (http://speech_pathology.state.nv.us/index.htm).

There is no limit on hours earned through online courses that are offered by ASHA-approved providers and include a post-test.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology. Over 25 online and book-based home study courses are available at: http://www.pdresources.org/Courses/Speech-and-Hearing/AllCourses/CourseID/1/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 9, 2011 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

 
%d bloggers like this: