Click to view approved online CE
Professional Counselors and Marital & Family Therapists (MFTs) in Tennessee are required to renew their licenses every 2 years. 10 hours of continuing education (CE) are required during each calendar year. 5 hours are allowed from online courses each year. Online courses must be offered by an approved provider and include a posttest.
Professional Development Resources is approved as a provider of continuing education by the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC Provider #5590) and by the American Psychological Association (APA) to offer online continuing education for Tennessee-licensed Professional Counselors and MFTs. Over 100 courses are available at: http://www.pdresources.org/Index.aspx
The administrative staff of the Division of Health Related Boards supports the Board by issuing licenses to those who meet the requirements of the law and rules. Renewal notices are mailed from the Board’s administrative office forty-five (45) days prior to the expiration of the license to the current address on record. Licenses can be renewed on-line one hundred twenty (120) days prior to expiration at Tennessee.gov/health. Click on the “License Renewal” link and follow the prompts. Licensees are responsible for renewing their licenses on time and keeping the Board apprised of current information. It is a violation of the law and of the board’s rules to practice on an expired license.
The due date for certificate and license renewal is the last day of the month in which a licensee’s birthdate falls pursuant to the Division of Health Related Board’s biennial birthdate renewal system as contained as the expiration date on renewal certificates.
Each person registered with the board is required to complete 10 clock hours of continuing education during each calendar year.
Those persons who hold two (2) certificates and/or licenses regulated by the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists shall complete fifteen (15) clock hours of continuing education each calendar year. A person who holds three (3) certificates and/or licenses shall complete twenty (20) clock hours of continuing education each calendar year. In each case, at least five (5) clock hours shall be directly related to the practice of each profession for which the person is licensed or certified.
Ethics and Jurisprudence Course Requirement
Three (3) clock hours of the ten (10) clock hour annual requirement shall, every two (2) years, pertain to the following subjects:
- Professional ethics; and/or
- Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 63, Chapter 22; and/or
- Official Compilation, Rules and Regulations of the State of Tennessee, Chapter 0450-1.
Those persons who hold two (2) certificates and/or licenses regulated by the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists shall have three (3) clock hours of the fifteen (15) clock hour annual requirement pertain to ethics and jurisprudence every two (2) years. A person who holds three (3) certificates and/or licenses shall have three (3) clock hours of the twenty (20) clock hour annual requirement pertain to ethics and jurisprudence every two (2) years.
A person is not required to complete continuing for a profession in the calendar year that his/her license and/or certificate was initially approved.
Acceptable Continuing Education
Acceptable continuing education shall consist of master or doctoral level course work from a nationally or regionally accredited institution of higher education; attendance at educational events sponsored or approved by national, state, regional, or local professional associations in the field; or events related to the practice of the profession for which a nationally or regionally accredited institution of higher education grants CEUs.
Multi-Media – continuing education courses may be presented in the traditional lecture and classroom formats or, with successful completion of a written post experience examination to evaluate material retention, in Multi-Media formats.
A maximum of five (5) clock hours may be received for multi-media courses during each calendar year. Those persons who hold two (2) certificates and/or licenses regulated by the Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors, Marital and Family Therapists and Clinical Pastoral Therapists may receive a maximum of seven and one-half (7½) clock hours for multi-media courses during each calendar year. Those persons who hold three (3) certificates and/or licenses may receive a maximum of ten (10) clock hours for multi-media courses during each calendar year.
Each person registered with the board must retain proof of attendance and completion of all continuing education requirements. This documentation must be retained for a period of four years from the end of the calendar year in which the continuing education was acquired. This documentation must be produced for inspection and verification, if requested in writing by the board during its verification process. The board will not maintain continuing education files.
The board will conduct a randomly selected audit of individual records to assure that the continuing education requirements have been met. An individual’s records may be audited during consecutive renewal periods.
Pre-approved course providers – Continuing education courses which pertain to the practice of counseling shall be considered approved if provided or sanctioned by the following entities:
- American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy
- American Association of Pastoral Counselors
- American Association of Sex Educators, Counselors, and Therapists
- American Counseling Association
- American Psychiatric Association
- American Psychological Association
- National Association of Social Workers
- National Board for Certified Counselors
The Tennessee Board for Professional Counselors and Marital and Family Therapists: http://health.state.tn.us/Boards/PC_MFT&CPT/index.htm